Candidates file to run for public positions


As election season nears, a slate of candidates has filed for offices to represent north Whatcom County residents.

Below is a list of some candidates who decided to run in the August 2024 primary election.

• 42nd Legislative District State Representative Position 1: Raymond Pelletti, a Republican from Blaine; Janet Melman, a Democrat from Bellingham; and incumbent Alicia Rule, a Democrat from Blaine.

• 42nd Legislative District State Representative Position 2: Incumbent Joe Timmons, a Democrat from Bellingham, and Kamal Bhachu, a Republican from Blaine.

• All four Whatcom County Superior Court judges: All incumbents are running unopposed. Robert E. Olson, Evan P. Jones, Lee Grochmal and David E. Freeman will be automatically elected and won’t appear on ballots. 

• Court of Appeals, Division 1, District 3 Judge Position 1: Incumbent Cecily C. Hazelrigg will run unopposed.

• Public Utility District No. 1 Commissioner District 1: Eddy Ury and Jeremiah J. Goggins.

• Public Utility District No. 1 Commissioner District 2: Austin Anderson, Dan Johnson and incumbent Atul Deshmane.

• Charter review commission District 4 (three positions representing east Blaine, greater Lynden area and north of Bellingham): Russell N. Dzialo, Katherine Orlowski, Joe Elenbaas, Hannah Ordos, J. G. Sandy Phillips, Brad Kelly and Ryan Bowman.

• Charter review commission District 5 (three positions representing Blaine, Birch Bay, Ferndale, Point Roberts and Lummi Island, Custer west of I-5): Teresa N. Taylor, Rod Stump, Douglas Taylor, Jackie Dexter, Janice Holmes, Freddie Lane, Lindsey Graham Elenbaas, Charlene Waters, Colleen Goertz, Lisa M. Pantalia, Jon Mutchler and Andrew Hansen.

The Whatcom County charter is reviewed every 10 years by a commission made up of members serving one-year terms.

A number of candidates for Democratic and Republican precinct committee officer positions also filed locally.

In addition, state and federal positions will be on ballots. Those positions include U.S. Senator, U.S. Representative, Governor, Lt. Governor, Secretary of State, State Treasurer, State Auditor, Attorney General, Commissioner of Public Lands, Superintendent of Public Instruction, Insurance Commissioner, Supreme Court Justice Position 2, Supreme Court Justice Position 8 and Supreme Court Justice Position 9.

Voting for the August 6 election begins July 17, when ballot drop boxes open, ballots are mailed to registered voters and the Whatcom County Auditor’s Office’s voting center opens.Washington residents can register to vote or update their voter registration with a new address at or by mail until July 29. The county auditor’s office will be open through Election Night to register or update voter registration.

The election is a top-two primary, meaning the two candidates with the most votes advance to the November general election, regardless of party.

For a full list of candidates, visit For more information about Whatcom County elections, contact the auditor’s office at 360/778-5102 or


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here