Hall of Fame committee announces 2023 inductees


Two teams and seven individuals will be inducted into the Blaine High School Hall of Fame this year.

The Blaine High School Athletic Booster Club and Hall of Fame committee announced the 2023 inductees for its fourth induction ceremony to be held October 14 in the performing arts center. The teams and individuals will be honored for their achievements and contributions to Blaine High School athletics.

Athletes include Ted Hanson, Mark Halldorson, Heidi Kuttel and Greg Wright. 

Gary Clausen will be inducted for his 32 years as head baseball coach. He coached the team to a state championship in 1990 and 11 state championship tournaments. Ted Hanson will be inducted as the distinguished honoree for leading the basketball team to a fifth place finish at state in 1929. He scored a total of 60 points in the tournament and was named to the all-state team.

Jim Jorgensen and Wayne Schouten will be inducted as contributors. Jorgensen formed and coached Blaine’s first boys golf team. He also worked many years as a scorer for boys basketball and timer for the football team. Schouten coached youth basketball and baseball for many years starting in the ’70s.

The 1998/99 and 1999/00 boys basketball teams will be inducted for their 2A state championships.  

These winners will be recognized in a special ceremony in the performing arts center 1 p.m. Saturday, October 14. More information about the inductees will be released closer to the day of the ceremony. 


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here