Larson narrows gap against Kremen, Crawford ahead of Maginnis

Published on Tue, Nov 15, 2011 by Jeremy Schwartz

Read More The Lighthouse Blog

The Whatcom County Auditor’s Office released the most recent round of election results last night, and it appears Whatcom County Council member Sam Crawford has regained his lead against opponent Christina Maginnis. 

As of Monday November 14, Maginnis now leads by 623 votes; that’s just more than one full percentage point. The newest figures put the race out of automatic machine recount territory, which would have happened had Maginnis stayed within 2,000 votes and less than half of a percentage point until the elections are certified on November 29. Crawford regained the lead after Maginnis lead by 601 votes after the results of November 12's ballot count were released.

The county auditor estimates 12,000 ballots still need to be counted, with the next count starting at 5 this evening (Monday, November 14). All the ballots are expected to be counted by this coming Wednesday.

In the other closely contested county council race, outgoing county executive Pete Kremen still leads against incumbent Tony Larson. Kremen has now secured 51.5 percent of the vote to Larson’s 49; that's a decrease in Kremen's lead by about 1 percentage point.

Maginnis and Kremen may be leading countywide, but voting precinct data show their respective opponents would be winning if the elections were limited to Blaine and Birch Bay. Both Larson and Crawford are leading easily in these two communities, with Larson garnering 58.5 percent of the vote to Kremen’s 41.5 percent and Crawford pulling down 55.3 percent of the vote to Maginnis’ 44.7 percent.

Here's a breakdown of the voting precincts that make up Birch Bay and Blaine and which area supported which candidate by percentage of the vote. The Birch Bay community comprises precincts 102,103,104 and 109 while the city of Blaine sits within precincts 301 to 303. Click here
to see a collection of PDF maps showing the precincts.

Larson v. Kremen:

 Precinct Tony Larson
Pete Kremen
 Total 57
 102   57   43
 103   56   44
 104   61.3   38.7
 109   60.2   39.8
 301   52.4   47.6
 302   48   52
 303   58.7   41.3


Crawford v. Maginnis

 Precinct  Sam Crawford
Christina Maginnis
 Total 55.3
 102   53.4   46.6
 103   59.3   40.7
 104   61.5   38.5
 109   55.3   44.7
 301   52.8   47.2
 302   47   53
 303   57.9   42.1

Click here for the most up-to-date election results.


Inside the Lighthouse

Welcome to the Lighthouse, the official blog of The Northern Light newspaper. The Lighthouse is the place for some breaking news, previews of upcoming articles, smaller news items and some tidbits of local information that might not make it into the print edition of The Northern Light.

The Northern Light reporter Steve Guntli will be the main contributor to The Lighthouse, but other staff from The Northern Light may add items from time to time.

The Lighthouse is a work in progress and may undergo substantial changes as readers react to the content posted here. The Northern Light kindly asks for the patience of its readers as we edge ever so slightly into the world of blogging.

Thank you, and enjoy The Lighthouse Blog!