13 Blaine, Birch Bay seats up for election

Published on Wed, May 25, 2011 by Jeremy Schwartz

Read More News

The filing deadline for Whatcom County’s elected positions is approaching, and some of the county’s most influential positions will be up for election in November.

In addition to three county council members, the county executive and sheriff, a number of positions on various boards and commissions in Blaine and Birch Bay also expire in 2012.

On the county level, County sheriff Bill Elfo is up for re-election, while county executive Pete Kremen announced Tuesday he will not be seeking re-election. The filing fee for county executive is $1,470.24 and $1,193.53 for county sheriff. Both positions serve a four-year term.

The positions of county assessor, auditor and treasurer are also up for election in November. The filing fee for each of those four-year positions is $966.48. 

Incumbents Keith Willnauer and Steven Oliver are both running for re-election for assessor and treasurer, respectively, while current county auditor, Shirley Forslof, announced she will be retiring and will not seek reelection.

The three county council terms that expire in 2012 are currently held by Sam Crawford, Barbara Brenner and Tony Larson.
The filing fee for each four-year county council position is $200. Brenner, along with council member Carl Weimer, represents county council district three, which includes Blaine and Birch Bay.

Port of Bellingham commissioner Jim Jorgensen's position is also up for re-election come November. Jorgensen, whose district includes Blaine, has announced he will be seeking another four-year term. The filing fee for this position is $84.

On the local level, three positions on the Blaine city council, those currently held by Alan Black, Scott Dodd and John Liebert, are up for election. Each position serves a four-year term.

The three Blaine school district board of director positions up for election are currently held by Todd Berge, Campbell McClusky and Charles Gibson; each serves a four-year term.

Also serving four-year terms are the North Whatcom Fire and Rescue fire commissioners. Three fire commissioners, Richard Bosman, Larry McPhail and Bill Salter, are up for re-election.

Rounding out the four-year positions in the Blaine or Birch Bay area are the Northwest Park and Recreation District 2 commissioners; three of whom, Betty Robertson, Terrance Johnson and Richard Sturgill, are up for re-election. Serving a six-year term, Don Monfort is up for re-election to the Birch Bay Water and Sewer District board of commissioners.

The county auditor’s office started accepting filings by mail on May 20 and will start accepting online or in-person filings starting June 6. In-person filings must be brought to the county auditor’s office in the county courthouse building. All filings are due by 4:30 p.m., June 10.

For a complete list of all positions, click here.