Republicans take control of U.S. House, 42nd district

Published on Wed, Nov 3, 2010 by By Jeremy Schwartz

Read More News

Election results are in, and Republicans riding a wave of populist support appear to have taken all the seats in Washington state’s 42nd legislative district in addition to taking control of the U.S. House of Representatives.

Despite major Republican victories, Democratic U.S. Senator Patty Murray held a slim lead over Republican challenger Dino Rossi as of press time. Murray secured 50.5  percent of the vote, receiving just more than 14,000 votes over Rossi.

Representative Rick Larsen appears to be losing his seat to Republican challenger John Koster trailing at 49.6 percent of the vote to Koster’s 50.4 percent.

State voters also sent a conservative message with their votes on ballot initiatives, with the state income tax being rejected and the two-thirds requirement for tax-increasing measures being approved. Voters also repealed the taxes on bottled water, soda and candy with 62 percent of the vote.

Locally, Blaine city councilman Jason Overstreet decisively beat Al Jensen for state representative position 1 while Vincent Buys appeared to have won the position 2 slot over incumbent Kelli Linville.

Representative Doug Ericksen won handily over Democrat Pat Jerns with 61 percent of the vote to become the 42nd district’s next state senator, replacing the retiring Dale Brandland. 

As of press time, the Northwest Park and Recreation District 2 levy was failing with 54 percent of the vote. The levy needs a supermajority of 60 percent or more to pass.