Wantto enter politics? Read on...

Published on Thu, Jul 7, 2005
Read More News

Want to enter politics? Read on...

Official candidate filing week begins Monday, July 25 and continues through Friday, July 29. Candidates may file between the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.

Filings for offices encompassed within Whatcom County take place at the Whatcom County Auditor’s Office in the elections division at 311 Grand Avenue in Bellingham. Filings received in the auditor’s office after the close of filing at 4:30 p.m. on Friday, July 29 are invalid and will be returned to the applicant, irrespective of postmark.

Beginning Monday, July 11, a candidate may mail his or her notarized declaration of candidacy for an office, accompanied by the filing fee, to Whatcom County Auditor, Attn: Elections, 311 Grand Avenue, Suite 103, Bellingham, WA 98225.

These filings must be received in the auditor’s office on or before 4:30 p.m. on Friday, July 29. Filings received by mail shall be included with filings made in person during filing week.

Following is an unofficial list of offices and positions, with the terms open for filing with the Whatcom County Auditor for the primary and general elections. This list is subject to change in the event of a vacancy. Information can also be found on the internet at www.whatcomcounty.us/auditor.

For information about filing for an office, contact the auditor’s election staff at 676-6742 or, for those who are hearing, sigh or speech disabled and need assistance, call 738-4555 (TTY).

A list of candidates
Office Term Incumbent
City of Blaine Council Ward 1 – Pos. 2
Onyon Full 4 Year
Ward 2 – Pos. 4
Wolf Full 4 Year
Ward 3 – Pos. 5
Brunkow 2 Year Unexpired
Ward 3 – Pos. 6
Myers Full 4 Year
Council At-Large
Hawkins Full 4 Year

Blaine School District Directors
District 1
Goodwin 2 Year Unexpired
District 3
Griffin Full 4 Year
District 5
Dodd Full 4 Year

Point Roberts Fire District No. 5
Commissioner Pos. No. 1
Brownrigg 4 Year Unexpired
Commissioner Pos. No. 2
Meursing Full 6 Year
Commissioner Pos. No. 3
Gellatly 2 Year Unexpired

Fire Protection District No. 13
Commissioner Pos. No. 2
Salter Full 6 Year

Point Roberts Water District (4)
Commissioner Pos.No. 2
Wilkowski Full 6 Year
Commissioner Pos.No. 3
Johnson 2 Year Unexpired

Northwest Park & Rec District (2)
Commissioner Pos. No. 2
Dodd Full 4 Year
Commissioner Pos.No. 4
Ambrose Full 4 Year

Point Roberts Hospital District
Commissioner Pos. No. 1
Biery Full 6 Year